Ramsey County sits in the heart of the Twin Cities seven-county metropolitan area and is the second-most populous county in the state. With more than 550,000 residents, it is the most fully developed and densely populated county in Minnesota, as well as one of the most diverse, with large Asian, African American and Hispanic populations calling it home.

Established on October 27, 1849, Ramsey County was one of the original counties of the Minnesota territory. Today it is a predominantly urban county, spanning 170 square miles that fully encompass 17 communities on the east side of the Twin Cities, including the state’s capital, Saint Paul. 

Along with Saint Paul, the county contains the communities of: Arden Hills, Falcon Heights, Gem Lake, Lauderdale, Little Canada, Maplewood, Mounds View, New Brighton, North Oaks, North St. Paul, Roseville, Shoreview, Saint Anthony, Vadnais Heights, White Bear Lake and White Bear Township. 

Maintaining Quality of Life and Business Excellence

Ramsey County Community & Economic Development has one goal in mind: to maintain and improve the quality of life for its residents and businesses. They do this by working diligently with partners to revitalize communities, expand homeownership and affordable housing options, and encourage job growth. They work with businesses and developers to provide support and access to a variety of federal and local incentives and resources to help businesses thrive.